MISSIONARY JOURNAL – FELLOWSHIP SUSTAINS ME

Friday 12-11-09 / 6:25am @ CC’s Coffee on Johnston St.

Lotta catchin’ up to do since I last wrote. Plus, after this entry not sure how often I’ll write “MISSIONARY JOURNAL” entries that specifically refer to missions, since the next short term trip I go on will probably be Mardi Gras or Easter…. But then again, my plan until I enter Intake in 2010 is to be around FMC peeps and events as much as possible, so who knows? 🙂 I don’t remember much about last Saturday during the daytime. All I remember is heading out to FMC in the afternoon to visit with the missionaries and to attend “Lord’s Day”. It’s basically a communal meal that is liturgically influenced and includes prayer, song, praise and worship, testimony and sharing, scripture reading, and of course a shared meal.

It was my second time to do it and I really like it. You really get a sense of what a blessing it is to gather as community for a shared meal. I wonder if Jesus’ shared meals with his disciples had the same kind of vibe? After the meal, I stayed up visiting with the rest of the missionaries for awhile. The next day, woke up, prayed in the chapel, ate breakfast and then went to 10:30 Mass at St. Theresa’s in Abbeville with a few of the missionaries. After Mass, we came back and played some kind of ball toss game thingy. Me and Kristin Istre were on a team and we RULED! My apologies to the other missionaries that we DOMINATED, but it’s true. 🙂 I wouldn’t want to commit a sin by lying about it, would I? Then we watched the Saints defeat the Redskins in OT, 33-30, to go 12-0. It was the most utterly amazing and improbable come from behind win I’ve ever seen. We hooted and hollered, screamed and cheered, and let cries of “WHO DAT” ring through the air…….

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

