WANDERINGS OF AN URBAN MISSIONARY

4-2-10 Good Friday – 10:30am @ the chapel at St. Ed’s in Laffy

Praise God for this glorious day. My prayer when I got here was through everything that I do today, help me to learn from your Passion and Crucifixion. I was so glad to get back here. 2 days ago, as I was headed back into town from mission formation @ FMC, I felt God was calling me to stop at the bookstore and find a new “Burn Book” for the chapel. To briefly explain, back in December of last year, someone bought a spiral bound journal (very colorful) and decorated the front and called it the “Burn Book”, since Jesus’ love burns in our hearts. IT’s basically a shared journal for anyone and everyone who comes to the chapel. Of course it stays here, and as you see fit you can either read and/or write in it. It’s been a tremendous inspiration for me because I can journey together with my brothers and sisters in Christ to see that they are going through alot of the same things that I am. As far as decorating the new burn book, I’ll leave that to one of the females (perhaps the one that created the first burn book) to spruce it up. It’s already nice and colorful, and I scored it on sale at Barnes and Noble for 7 bucks. It could just use a lil something extra. If I see that a month down the road it still hasn’t been fixed up, I might take it upon myself to do so. In other news, I saw Martin again last night at CC’s. He was comin in to get a cup of water and I saw him while I was hangin out with Chris Diesi. He saw me and we said hello and then I introduced him to Chris. We sat and chatted awhile, which on most occasions wouldn’t be a big deal.

But, I know that for however many times God puts him in my path, I’m called to be Christ-like and help him however I can. But it’s so easy to focus on “Lemme buy something for him”. How often do I actually tithe my time? So yeah, it felt good to sit and chat with him. Since me and Chris were about to leave anyways, me and Martin walked over to Albertson’s to get him some food. He only asked for 2 sandwiches and some chips, which humbled and inspired me. He, a homeless man who’s out of work, only asked for what he needed and nothing more. Now do you see why I like Divine Appointments so much? 🙂 After we left Albertson’s, we headed back to my car, and I bid him farewell. Though, I didn’t pray with him this time, I did give him one of my rosaries. I told him that even if he’s not Catholic or doesn’t remember the Our Father or Hail Mary, he could still hold the rosary and it would help him calm down and focus while he prays….. He’s in town until the beginning of May, so hopefully I get to see him again before he leaves. Speaking of leaving, I need to leave and head downtown. My  nieces, Haily and Hannah are in town for the Easter weekend, and I’m going meet them and my dad downtown for lunch. Need to stop @ Nikki Soileau’s to get her and load up her wheelchair so she can come have lunch with us. Praise You Lord Jesus for the blessing of Divine
Appointments, as well as friends and family. Help me Lord to trust you more, and to have the courage and strength to make the choices I need to make so I can love you more. Help me to persevere Lord! St. Francis Xavier, patron of missions, pray for us!

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

