Peace through presence (part 2)

Entry subtitle: God speaks to my heart through Scripture

8-7-10 (cont-d)

I thought the previous page would be my only entry today. When I finished, I really felt God calling me to read Scripture, specifically the prophet Isaiah. When I grabbed the Bible off the stand however, it was opened up to Proverbs 31, the passage about “The Ideal Wife”. As someone who aspires to the vocation of marriage, this made me happy and struck a chord in my heart. Here are a few verses from that passage that stood out: “When one finds a worthy wife, her value is far beyond pearls. Her husband, entrusting his heart to her, has an unfailing prize. She brings him good, and not evil, all the days of her life. Her husband is prominent at the city gates as he sits with the elders of the land. She is clothed with strength and dignity, and she laughs at the days to come. She opens her mouth in wisdom, and on her tongue is kindly counsel. Her children rise up and praise her; her husband, too, extols her: ‘Many are the women of proven worth, but you have excelled them all.’ Charm is deceptive and beauty fleeting; the woman who fears the Lord is to be praised. Give her a reward of her labors, and let her works praise her at the city gates.” –Proverbs 31: 10-12, 23, 25-26, 28-31–

Isn’t it amazing how God speaks to us through his Word? And not just in a generic one-size-fits-all sort of way. He speaks specifically to our hearts: to our hopes, dreams, and desires. It’s moments like this that make me wish that I was already in the habit of reading Scripture as part of my personal prayer life. Reading God’s Word while I’m face to face with The Living Word, makes it even more amazing. St. Jerome once said “Ignorance of Scripture is ignorance of Christ.” Jesus, I don’t want to be ignorant of you. I want as much of you as I can possibly get.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Peace through presence (part 2)

  1. That is lovely.

    You are so right: God does not just give us platitudes, but is able to open out hearts to the depth of the message we need.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

