Life @ Big Woods: Best Reality Show EVER!

Friday, 9/17/10, Edge of the Pond @ Big Woods (suburb of Mouton Cove, LA, which is a suburb of Perry, which is a suburb of Abbeville 🙂 )

It’s almost surreal, being out here. It’s probably because this is my first Desert Day as an official FMC missionary. Maybe because I’m official now is why it feels “more real”. Being in this community is such a blessing and is really starting to have an effect on me. This leads into a phrase I heard here earlier this week: “If your goal is heaven, then community is helpful.”

Being out here, I can’t help but feel different. So I ask myself, what is it that’s different about this place? Seems like alot in here is the same type of faith life that The Church teaches “out there”. We pray, they pray. We read the Bible, they read the Bible. We go to Mass, they go to Mass. We sit in front of the Blessed Sacrament, they sit in front of the Blessed Sacrament. So again, I ask what’s the difference? The difference is that in here, I can deeply and lovingly connect with a community of faith. We are all so single-mindedly focused on God as individuals and as a community.

I look forward to the difficult times that are sure to come, and I’m thankful for those that already have. Our souls, like precious metals, are refined with fire, the Fire of The Holy Spirit. I am thankful for my extended family here at Big Woods, especially the Eckstine and Alvarez kids. They’re like the little brothers and sisters I never had. Getting to laugh and play and see the world and God through their eyes brings me such joy.

Fellowship with the other singles is something that also brings me great joy. Susanna, Sarah, Madi, and James are at the same stage I’m at, but have a slightly different perspective, which really helps me to better learn and grow in my faith. I know that I can look at everyone here at Big Woods and find some way that they uniquely help me to draw closer to Christ.

So now I leave you with the words of St. Paul in 1 Corinthians 12:24-27 “But God has so adjusted the body […] that there may be no discord in the body, but that the members may have the same care for one another. If one member suffers, all suffer together; if one member is honored, all rejoice together. Now you are the Body of Christ and individually members of it.”

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

