My missionary beg letter

To All Of My Friends and Family,

 

Greetings from God’s country! It brings me great joy to be able to write this letter to you, and tell you a little bit about what the Lord is doing in my life right now. Since the middle of September I have been living at Big Woods, the missionary training center for Family Missions Company. (A few miles south of Abbeville, LA)

 

FMC is a Catholic foreign missions apostolate that specializes in training lay Catholics (single & married) for service in the foreign missions. Since the beginning of my time in college, I have been actively discerning what the Lord is calling me to do with my life. I’ve worked at the family business and have even spent some time in the seminary. And as wonderful as those experiences were, my heart was still not at peace. A little over a year ago, I started to hear God calling me into foreign missions, and He has blessed me to finally be able to be here! Looking back many years, all the way to my time in high school, I’ve been blessed with many opportunities for mission trips all over the world. Every time I went, my heart was touched and God spoke to me. It’s easy to see now why the Lord is calling me into full-time foreign missions. To become the person God wants me to be, I feel like this is where I need to serve Him.

 

To prepare for foreign missions we do everything from work projects to Bible studies, as well as studying Pope John Paul II’s encyclical on missionary activity (Mission of the Redeemer). We also have Mass, personal prayer, community prayer, and study time built into our weekly schedule. In November we will be going to FMC’s mission house in General Cepeda, Mexico, which is 1 hour south/southwest of Saltillo. Once we get there, we will put all the things we’ve been studying and learning into practice.

 

Some of our time will be spent on home visits, where we pray and visit with the residents and bring them some food supplies. We’ll also get a chance to go out into the various communities around town and evangelize through song, prayer, spiritual teachings, and testimonies. Another way we help to provide for the needs of the people is through construction projects. We may build a wall, put up a roof, or install a drainage pipe. At the mission house we are also able to provide limited medical assistance. This time is also a good chance for us to meet to talk and pray about how the Lord is moving in our lives as missionaries and where He is leading us. At that point we will come together in prayer as a community and choose where we feel the Lord is calling us into missions. I don’t know yet exactly where the Lord is calling me. At this point my possible mission posts are Coatzacoalcos (Mexico), Ecuador, and St. Lucia. I’m also pleased to announce that my mission partners will be the Eckstine Family from Oregon. Mark and Lora and their 10 children along with me, will be going into the foreign mission field in early January. Please pray for us as we come together as a mission team, and please pray for us as we try to discern where the Lord is calling us into missions.

 

As y’all know, I cannot do this by myself. 1 Corinthians 12:27 says “Now you are the body of Christ, and each one of you is a part of it.” The most important thing I need is PRAYER! Pray pray pray! Please commit yourselves to praying for me, because a missionary that is supported by prayer can do marvelous things for the Kingdom. I also need financial support to be able to go into the mission field. I would be honored and blessed if you or anybody you know feels called to donate to my missionary journey. While in the mission field, we try to live off of $300/month budget. Plane tickets (one-way) to Mexico and St. Lucia are $300 while a one-way ticket to Ecuador is $800. We also try to have money available for almsgiving for the poor. Another cost associated with going into missions is language school. This generally is in the range of $1500 – $3000, depending on the country we will be living in. Please include your mailing address, email address, and any other contact information so that FMC can keep you up-to-date on my missionary journey. You can also keep up to date by visiting my missionary blog: https://cajunmissionary.wordpress.com If any of y’all are involved with civic groups, church organizations, schools, churches, or any other group, you can invite me to make a presentation or give a talk.

 

Once again, I want to thank you for letting me share a little bit about my journey into foreign missions. If you have any questions or need anything, please let me know.

 

God Bless,

Sid Savoie

“How beautiful are the feet of those who bring good news!”

–Romans 10:15—

 

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

