Where I’m going and what I need……………….

So, usually my blog posts are simply a re-typing of  an entry from my spiritual journal. And typically these entries are well thought out, spiritual/reflective, etc…. This post, not so much. Well, I take that back. I did put some thought into it.

First off, I would like to formally reveal that my mission partners are The Eckstine Family. Mark and Lora are from Oregon and have ten children, from 15 years on down to 6  months. From oldest to youngest (correct me if I’m wrong Mark), they are Abi, Ellie, Mia, Peter, Esther, Rachel, Annie, Bridget, Becca, and Isaac.

Our mission post is St. Lucia! 🙂 I’m very excited because we just found out that we’re headed there. We started the process back in October, and had been waiting and waiting and waiting (something you have to be very good at when you become a missionary). Not sure exactly where on the island we’ll be, but i know that A.)we’ll be living on the first floor of a convent, with some nuns living on the second floor, B.)We’ll be ministering in a nursing home nearby, C.)I might be teaching in an all-boys school, and D.)we have to be there by January 18th.

Now onto the “what I need” section……

*Prayer prayer prayer. I’m beginning to learn as a missionary that God can and will provide for all of our needs. One of the primary ways we see him providing for us is through prayer. So please pray for me. If you do nothing else for me, then please pray.

*Praise be to God for generous donors. When I started my missionary training in september, I still had half of my fees to pay (roughly 1200 bucks). Got all that paid off with donations that came from my inital batch of “begging letters” that I sent out. However (there’s always a however), there are still some other needs I’m trying to take care of.

1.) I need to book a plane ticket to St. Lucia. Round trip tickets are $600-700.  I’m not sure how much missionary funds I have right now, but i know I don’t have this much in my account.

2.) Vaccinations – There are no vaccinations that i’m absolutely required to get before the St. Lucia gov’t lets me step off the plane. However, Hep. A & B are recommended, as well as polio and typhoid. DPT (D-something, Psomething, Tetanus) is another one that would be good to get. All I remember from my phone convo with the doctor’s office, after I recovered from cardiac palpitations caused by how high the cost is, is that each of those is in the neighborhood of $90. ouch.

3.) Used Cellphone – I would hardly use my cellphone at all while in St. Lucia. In fact, I plan to never use it. I’ll have my computer where I can do email and facebook, and skype as well. However, i’d like to have a working cellphone while in St. Lucia for any emergencies or other needs that come up. My cellphone is now “on the fritz” and is not the most reliable phone.

4.) Voltage converter – I need a voltage converter for my laptop so that I can use it while in St. Lucia. These typically run anywheres from $20-30 (saw one at RadioShack today for about $30).

5.) Monthly expenses – As missionaries, we are budgeted to live off of approx. $300 a month. As of now, I have enough money in my account, after paying for my plane ticket to St. Lucia to live for -1.5 months. Basically, at this point i’m in the hole.

anyhoo, I know that someway somehow, God will provide. Pray for the new batch of “beg letters” that just got sent out, as well as this blog post, that it would reach whoever it needs to reach.

If you have any prayer requests, please send them to me, and I’ll add it to my missionary prayer list.

God Bless!

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

