St. Eugene of Mazenod

So, my Uncle Derwin gave me this REALLY nice rosary while I was at his Knight’s of Columbus chapter’s Christmas party. (St. Edmond’s Council, and btw he’s the Grand Knight! woop woop!) I was stoked because first of all it’s a beautiful rosary. It has a black crucifix with a gold corpus and gold chain links. The beads must be made of some kind of black glass because the rosary is heavy. It’s a nice feel. A good solid heavy rosary. Feels very substantial, like I’ve really got something, something special, in my hands.

 

Sometime after the party, I had more reason to be stoked about it. I looked on the “centerpiece” medal of the rosary, and on one side there is the blessed Mother. But, even more than that, on the other side, there is a “St. Eugene of Mazenod”. I didn’t know who he was at first, but I still thought he was cool because Eugene is my middle name. So I did a little research and found out that the order he founded (Oblates of Mary Immaculate) were missionaries on five different continents. So yeah, I think it was meant for me to have this rosary. 🙂

 

Hope you enjoyed my little story! God Bless!

 

Here are two links to some short bios on St. Eugene and some pics of my rosary:

http://www.vatican.va/news_services/liturgy/saints/ns_lit_doc_19951203_de-mazenod_en.html

http://www.catholic.org/saints/saint.php?saint_id=346

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

