Desert Day – November 19, 2011 – part 2

LINKS TO VIDEOS AND PICS (you might have to copy and paste the link):

Facebook picture album:

Mexico mountaintop scenery – http://youtu.be/CwzRU8me5VQ
Concrete slide – http://youtu.be/1NzAYt7x_pY
Missionaries headed to the rancho – http://youtu.be/aHM5IYweHUw
Missionaries preparing food for the poor – http://youtu.be/dWZYNzunl9Y

 

I figured part 2 would be a good chance to also share some stories about our Mexico trip. The funny thing is that the trip actually started before the group got here last saturday. Monday of last week, me and Luis drove Odilio’s old suburban down to the border to donate it to our Mexican missionary, Raul. Without giving you all the fun details, let’s just say it was quite an adventure. It involved crossing the borders 8 times in 2 days at 2 different locations. Got stopped by border patrol on both sides, and got held at the US Customs and Border Patrol station for an hour and a half. But, in the end, we were able to get the suburban to Raul so that he could get the paperwork completed so that it would be transferred to his ownership. Why not wait until the group came down last Saturday? Well, there was a Mexican law that was about to change that would have raised the cost from $1600 to $6000, and we wanted to beat the deadline.

Since we’ve been here things have been great. This trip has taken on a whole new feel than the previous three times I’ve been here. All those trips were amazing, yes, but this is my first trip here with the knowledge that me and Luis will be living here in January. Yep, you heard right, the Casa de Misiones in General Cepeda will be my mission post next year. So now, instead of just participating in the normal daily activities, I’m also getting to know where things are in town. I’m starting to make connections with our mexican missionaries here. It’s the process of starting to familiarize myself with this place and getting settled in, so that it can feel like home when I come back in 2 months.

Our first week here has been great. I feel like one of the graces I’ve received during my first year of missions is to really grow and progress in my spiritual life and in other aspects too. It seems like God is giving me the grace to really dive deeply into prayer and ministry while here. I’m really loving praying over people, giving alms, doing home visits, welcoming visitors to our mission house, going door to door in the ranchos to invite people to our prayer services, singing praise and worship music, and giving testimonies. I LOVE it! 🙂 Daily life with the other missionaries brings me alotta joy too. Everything from cleaning bathrooms, to washing dishes, to community prayer, personal prayer time, and fellowship with each other.

Next week seems to be quite a busy and blessed week as well. Praise the Lord!

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

