I put mayo on my bread tonight

Friday, September 14, 2012 – Noon-ish – mountainous area outside of Ejido Tejocote, which is a “municipio” of General Cepeda, in the state of Coahuila, in the country of Mexico

writing down my thoughts during Desert Day prayer time

So, I promise the title of this journal entry does pertain to it. You just have to wait till (or skip ahead to) the end. My original title was “Desert Day is a misnomer”, but that sounded kinda nerdy and boring, and didn’t think it would grab anybody’s attention enough to make them actually wanna read my journal entry. That was the original title, because we call our weekly “get away from everyone and everything” prayer time “Desert Day”. We do this in imitation of Jesus who took time away to pray and be with the father. But, aside from the fact that I was in a mountainous area instead of a desert, it was also VERY foggy. Like, visibility 50 yards or less type of foggy. The fog was so thick, it was starting to coagulate/coalesce/stick together and formed water driplets that were just big enough to be pulled by gravity down to the earth. “Drizzly” is a good word to describe it. But not quite heavy enough for me to use the word “drizzling”, as in, it was actually drizzling. And I use the word “driplets”, because they were even smaller than “droplets” of water.

cactus look so much cooler up close (but not too close)

not a whole lot goin on in this pic. A path in the forest. It just looked really simple, beautiful, peaceful.

coolest danged pine cone I ever seen

Desert Day is once again full of peace.It’s a profound peacefulness. Profound. Yeah. That’s the perfect word to describe it. I see the layers of fog drifting by me. I hear the wind blow through the trees and across the landscape. Kinda reminds me of the Holy Spirit talk we’ve been giving this week & how you can’t see the Spirit, but you can see and feel and hear the effects of The Spirit. Kinda makes me wonder too if Adam and Eve appreciated The Garden of Eden the way I appreciate this Desert Day peacefulness and tranquility. What was their basis of comparison, since everything at that point was perfectly beautiful, tranquil, and sinless. They had no sucky-ness to help them appreciate the beauty of it all (prior to be kicked out of The Garden of Eden, of course) Came across this really cool little horned desert lizard. Snapped a few pics.

Came across this little guy when I was doing some exploring

funny thing is i almost didn’t see him, he camouflages so well with his surroundings

“aerial” view of my lizard friend

head shot

Sittin in the van now, all the windows opened/rolled down. Enjoying the stillness from here, because I didn’t bring a blanket to sit on. And, it’s (just barely) too drizzly.  Read a little bit from The Bible. Reading in 1 Corinthians how you don’t have to be a wordsmith or academic scholar in order to preach the Gospel. Which is quite ironic considering that earlier this week was the feast day of St. John Chrysostom, whose last name literally means golden-tongue (or golden-mouth?). But as much as I admire St. John Chrysostom, I’m glad I read that passage in 1 Corinthians, because if there’s one thing I am NOT, it’s a golden-tongued orator. 🙂

Anyhoo, later on we’re headed to Tejocote & 2 de Abril (two nearby ejidos) to do prayer services in the chapels. In the meanwhile I’m gonna go harvest some of this good mountainous/foresty topsoil for our garden at the Casa de Misiones. Till next time…………………….

p.s.- So, to explain the title of this entry, you have to realize that I journal in a “one size fits all purposes” notebook. It’s a journal, notebook, post-it note pad, and everything in between. I had some mayo in the fridge that I wanted to use up before it went bad, ergo, the funny/random note that gave birth to the title of this journal entry.

p.s.s.- Having your house right next to the city hall (La Presidencia) and right on the town square (El Zocalo) has it’s advantages. Last night (Sept. 15th) the town celebrated Mexican Independence Day and we got to observe alot of things up close. Getting to hear and see the Mexican Hat Dance song performed, in Mexico, has now made my life a little more complete.

p.s.s.s.- Seeing the fireworks display that was literally right in front of our house, while standing on our rooftop, was pretty cool too 🙂

Our local church parish, La Parroquia de San Francisco de Asis, all lit up for Mexican Independence Day

the local city hall, La Presidencia, decorated for Mexican Independence Day

some of the fireworks show we saw from the roof of our Casa de Misiones

watchin’ the baile (dance) from the rooftop

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

