My 40-day fast – Day 1

Sid’s 40 Day Fast
Day 1 – Monday, 9/24/12

So this is my journal for my 40 day fast. I was inspired to do the fast because one of my missionary brothers recently did one, and said he really got alot from it. He also kept a journal, which is why i’m keeping one. Great way to recall my thoughts and share them. I was also inspired to do this fast when I was listening to someone talk about fasting and how it gives you clarity.

My main prayer intentions are: *for my sister, *for the grace of clarity as I begin to discern my mission post next year, *for growth in humility & grace, *for all the missionaries in Intake 2012.

I’m a little nervous, but not in a bad way. It’s more of a really excited full of anticipation sort of way. I’ve been saying for a few weeks now that in my spiritual life, I feel like I’m on the verge of something big, like I’m about to turn a corner. And I think this fast will play a big part in that. Not sure how intense the hunger factor will be, since I’ll only be eating one meal a day. But I hope it’s a big enough factor to challenge me. I also hope that I know a little more what it’s like for these poor people that we serve, to struggle with hunger and a lack of resources at times. I’m gonna eat my one daily meal at supper time. I figure I’ll have more time each day to feel the hunger. Also figure that if I eat at night, I won’t be doing any kind of physical activity to burn off those few precious calories. I’ll allow myself whatever liquids during the day. Coffee in the morning. Gatorade during the day, so that the electrolytes/vitamins/nutrients can supplement some of what I won’t be getting from food. I was already taking a multi-vitamin everyday so I’ll have that too.

I’m kinda surprised though at how I didn’t really feel much hunger today. Maybe it was because I prepared myself with a 2 meal-a-day fast for two and a half weeks prior to this fast. Maybe, since today was my first day my body hasn’t had a chance to feel the hunger yet. We also had some food at the end of a prayer group this afternoon too. I’m thinkin’ too it could be the liter of Gatorade I drank over the course of the day. No it wasn’t good solid food, but it was something to fill my belly. We also ate at Rita &  Gallo’s house tonight. Nopales (cactus), frijoles (beans), arroz (rice), and tortillas. I wasn’t feeling the hunger factor before we ate, but judging by how much I ate, I was definitely hungry. I kinda stuffed myself. Maybe I was also trying to eat a little more than I normally would, knowing that I wouldn’t be eating again for a whole ‘nother day. Not sure if that defeats the purpose of a fast or not. Well, I’ll give my current way of doing things another week or so. If I still don’t feel the hunger, I may cut down to half a liter of Gatorade. We’ll see how it goes.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

