Sid’s 40 Day Fast – Day 5

Day 5 – Friday – 9/28/12

If I ever become truly poor and starving I’ll know one thing for sure: that I’ll have the most sensitive sense of smell (say that 3 times fast) in the world. Seriously, I started to notice during my preparatory fast and especially during the first few days of this fast. Maybe it’s because you realize better what you had once you don’t have it. You’re better attuned to it. It seems richer, better, fuller. Any slight scent of it really perks you up and you are full of anticipation for the next time you have it. And then when you get it, you REALLY enjoy it and appreciate it. If this is what it’s like only 4 days into the fast, I can only imagine what it’ll be like at the end. I do know this much: if I ever truly become poor and starving, I’ll learn how to crawl on all fours and reinvent myself as a bomb-sniffing or drug-sniffing dog, because I’ll certainly have the olfactory capacity to do so.

Sidenote: Grape-flavored Gatorade tastes awesome. Mixed my first packet of it into a 1 liter bottle last night. It’s my new favorite flavor.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

