Sid’s 40 Day Fast – Day 13

Day 13 – Saturday – 10/6/12

Yesterday’s Desert Day and Rancho visits were good. It had been since the 3rd week of September since we visited, due to the fact that finances are tight so we spend even less on gas and because we wanted to do more in town as per father’s advice. We’ll be going again this week for our final visit as a team of singles before the Intake missionaries arrive at the beginning of November. When we got back and I went to buy a few things from the store and then came back to eat supper, I was reminded how even in the midst of fasting God is still allowing me to feast. When I say “fasting” I’m referring to both the “going without” that is experienced by many here in town on many different levels, as well as my own “going without” that I experience in the missionary life (combined with my 40 day fast). I had to carry two huge 5-gallon jugs of fresh drinking water that cost a mere 10 pesos each (less than $1 U.S.) I ended up carrying at least 4 grocery bags heavy with stuff. After my simple supper, I got to eat some inexpensive cookies for  dessert ($17 pesos/$1.25 U.S.) that many people here can’t afford, and one of my mission partners let me have a piece of his Mexican chocolate to make a cup of hot chocolate. I could go on and on, but I think you get the idea.

In morning prayer this morning the reading was from Hebrews 13 & the words that really stuck out to me were “…imitate their faith, Jesus Christ is the same, do not be carried away…”. Simple but powerful. Experienced a very small victory/grace from my fast earlier tonight. I remember that someone told me my fast will be less of a struggle with the hunger feeling and more of a struggle with controlling my desires and will. I wanted to eat a small piece of the Mexican chocolate that Albert gave me (which I had decided to give to one of our missionary families). Almost convinced myself that it was no big deal, then I remembered about how small victories are still victories. Resisted the chocolate. Felt good. Went over to Gallo and Rita’s so she could show me how to make bunuelos, which are thin flour tortillas that are fried and then dusted with sugar and cinnamon. Apparently they have to dry overnight, and then we’re gonna fry them up tomorrow morning. Told her we were gonna save them to eat when me, Luis, and Albert go over tomorrow night to watch the final episode of one of the telenovelas. Have us some popcorn too. Gonna have a good ole time 🙂

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

