Sid’s 40 Day Fast – Day 14

Day 14 – Sunday – 10/7/12

So the dumbest thing to ever do in Mexico is to go on a 40-day fast. Too much good food here. I discovered earlier this morning the 2nd dumbest thing to do in Mexico. Help prepare bunuelos while on said 40-day fast. For those of you who don’t know, bunuelos are a type of thin flour tortilla that is fried till golden brown and then coated with a sugar/cinnamon mix. The light at the end of the tunnel is that I get to eat my share of the batch that was made when we go to Gallo & Rita’s tonight! 🙂

When we got back from communion services, I got a little flustered after repeated attempts to unlock my combination lock on my bedroom door. Part of the frustration was the repeated failures, and part of it was the “stress” of being hungry. You know, moodiness, a little bit of the shakes, the hunger feeling, etc… After a bazillion tries, and one combination lock slammed to the ground in disgust, I paused for a moment. I said to myself “Wait a minute! I’ve got a fast and some hunger pangs I can offer up for this!” And I did just that. My anger dissipated and I just kinda thought it was pretty cool to have that in my spiritual arsenal to offer up in a time of need.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

