Sid’s 40 Day Fast – Day 30

Day 30 – Tuesday – 10/23/12

Yahoo! I’m 3/4 of the way through my fast. One thing I’ve discovered over the past 3 months of various types of fasting, is that it makes the time whizz by! Maybe because you always have some kind of schedule that you can count down, and mark the progress. Who knows…..

So last night a friend of mine gave me a Bible verse, Phillipians 2:12-18. I can’t remember if she got it during her prayer time or at Mass. It’s a very missionary-themed verse where St. Paul encourages them to be faithful and that their faithfulness makes him proud. For that matter, ANY of his letters will be missionary-themed. But what I really liked about it was the reason why she gave me that Bible verse. She said it reminded her of me (because I’m a missionary) and wished me a happy World Missions Sunday. It may seem small, but it really touched and encouraged me & made me feel special. The cool thing is that she wasn’t the only one. It happened several times with other friends too, and each time it made me feel special.

Another noteworthy thing happened yesterday. On the weeks following communion service Sundays, we have 2 more rancho chapel visits on Monday, and throughout the week we have all our normal home visits. Besides bringing the Eucharist to the rancho chapel visits for communion services, we bring it to most of our home visits to offer communion services in case they didn’t get to go to Mass (as many of them are old or infirm). So yesterday, we brought the Eucharist with us, in one of those little gold containers, to both home visits and both rancho visits. We ended up not doing a single communion service, due to various reasons. And so I was tempted to think that we wasted our time bringing Jesus with us to all those visits. But then I said to myself “Hey wait a minute! We may not have consumed the Eucharist, but we were in the physical bodily presence of Jesus Christ for both home visits and both rancho visits. How awesome is that?!? So it was obviously still a very blessed time of relational ministry. 🙂

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

