Sid’s 40 Day Fast – Day 34

Day 34 – Saturday – 10/27/12

So, first things first. I GET AN EXTRA HOUR OF SLEEP TONIGHT! 😀 No, I haven’t gained the ability to warp the space/time continuum. Neither do I plan on sleeping an hour later than I normally would. It’s just that in Mexico, Daylight Savings Time ends a week before it does in ‘Murica. So for a week, I’ll be 2 hours behind my fam in SC, 1 hour behind my fam in LA, same timezone as my mountain peeps, and only one hour ahead of my west coast peeps. Haven’t figured out Hawaii or Alaska yet.

Another thing on my mind is expectations, namely, when they are not only met but exceeded. That is an awesome experience in and of itself. And when the expectations you originally had, (based off of what you already knew) were already sky high, that makes the surpassing of them even that much more amazing. Because in your mind you’re thinking “Wow, this is gonna be REALLY good”, & that it’s so good that A.)how could it possibly be any better, & B.) if it’s this good, then I’m in for a treat! So, when the previously unthinkable happens, you’re left kinda speechless. You think “How is this POSSIBLE?!?” and the more you think about it, the best explanation you can hope for is a slightly confused train of thought that borders on turning into incoherent mind babble. What happens in the end is that you stop trying to find an explanation, because you realize you won’t and that somehow if you did it would remove the mystery. Instead you just sit back, smile real big, and enjoy it. 🙂

Didn’t have any hunger pangs this morning, because of the discada I ate last night. But, because of the baby shower at 3, I won’t eat until then so I’ll have a little time to let it build up. I may end up eating a tiny tiny snack to hold me over, so that I can wait until after the baby shower.  The baby shower itself I’m not so sure what to think of. I’ve never been to one before. Yeah, I know what generally happens. Women get together, get all happy and fussy, compliment the mamma, watch her as she opens up each and every gift while they say “awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww!, isn’t that cute?”, and eat snack type foods. Or at least that’s what i THINK happens, since i’ve never been to one. It’s just that it’s basically a woman’s world, that men rarely ever venture into unless they are somehow obliged to. “HONEY! Can you get me the scissors outta the kitchen? I’m having trouble opening these gift bags!” But I don’t know alot of people here in town and I don’t have any golf courses to escape to. Ergo, it looks like I will be venturing into No-Man’s Land later this afternoon. Say a prayer for my well-being and safe return!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ( I might just hide out in the office and only come out when they start serving the food 😀 )

In morning prayer, one of the Bible verses that stood out to me was 2 Peter 1:10 – “Be solicitous to make your call and election permanent, brothers; surely those who do so will never be lost.” I think it stood out because my first thought was “I don’t see myself being a foreign missionary forever. Why would I want to make this call and election permanent?” Then a few moments later, I realized that even if I remove the word “foreign” from my title, I should always keep the word “missionary”. If I’m a missionary forever and always, no matter where I’m at or what I’m doing in life, I know I won’t regret it.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

