Sid’s 40 Day Fast – Day 37

Day 37 – Tuesday – 10/30/12

It’s one of those days where I just wasn’t feeling the inspiration or motivation to write in my journal this morning when I was awake and refreshed. Funny thing is that I actually was awake and refreshed when I woke up. Maybe being slightly tired when I wake up gets the reflective/creative juices flowing? I also just had the desire to sit in our chapel, in front of Jesus and do nothing. Just do nothing. Just sit there in front of Jesus and let myself think, meditate, air out my thoughts, whatever you wanna call it. It’s something that I wish I did more, which is ironic since I consider myself a pensive and contemplative person. So I figured I’d strike while the iron was hot. It ended up being a “just right” kinda day. Not too busy, not too slow. Instead of our normal home visit, which we’ll do tomorrow, we went to some of the local schools to check out the altars they put up for Dia De Los Muertos, which is this coming Friday. You might know it by the name of All Souls Day. The altar consists of various foods and personal objects reminiscent of the dearly deceased, as a way of remembering them. Really colorful and creative stuff. I personally would rather keep the money and food for myself or someone else instead of leaving it for my dearly deceased. 🙂 But, that’s probably one of many reasons that God made me an American and not a Mexican!

Came back home, washed some more blankets and bed sheets in preparation for the groups that are coming next month, ate some lunch, did some more laundry stuff, and took a nap. It was a GOOD nap. I mean, REALLY good. It was one of those kind of naps where you are basically dead to the world. Felt great, can’t lie. After I woke up, took me a shower, and then we had our weekly missionary community meeting here at the house with our Mexican missionaries. Went to Daily Mass at 6 and then came back here. Typin up my journal, and what do you know, freakin’ Albert walks in the door! 🙂 It’s good when a missionary brother that’s been gone for awhile comes back. Probably gonna visit with him tonight and maybe talk to some other friends later tonight.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

